The importance of photojournalism

It was the year 2000 when I fell in love with photojournalism.

I was a staff reporter for my high school newspaper. I already had an interest in photography, but it was not until I covered my first football game when I discovered my love of photojournalism.

I loved how I could capture emotions and important moments. I realized there was a story to be told with every photograph.

I was hooked.

A few months later, I knew I wanted to become a photojournalist.

I wanted to be a visual storyteller. I wanted to use photographs to educate people about important events around the world.

I wanted to make a difference.

In previous blog posts, I talked about how photojournalism can be used to educate people about diversity and to help people during emergency situations.

A recent article in the Los Angeles Times reminded me why I love photojournalism.

Deirdre Edgar, a reporter for the LA Times, wrote about how a reader was inspired by a photograph to make a difference in someone else’s life. A woman was laid off from her job and was living with her 7-month-old daughter in transitional housing. The reader who saw the photograph, wrote to the LA Times:

“It’s trite, I know, but ‘a picture is worth a thousand words’ is so true here. It hit me because it’s so poignant — and she radiates intelligence, resoluteness, and she’s got it together.”

“Please pass on the enclosed check to her with my wish that she’ll do something nice for herself and Madison.”

A photograph made a difference in someone’s life.

This is why photojournalism is important.

This is why I love photojournalism.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

